You are here

National Volunteer Leader of the Year Award

The National Volunteer Leader of the Year Award recognizes the volunteer leaders who are the biggest champions of the 4-H program! With their support and guidance, 4-H members receive outstanding experiences and skills that help them continue to be responsible, caring and contributing youth who are positively impacting the world around them.

The winning national volunteer receives a prize package including a $1,000 cash prize and registration for the 2021 Leadership Summit. In addition to the winning national volunteer, one leader from each province is selected as the Provincial Volunteer Leader of the Year and receives a $100 cash prize, as well as $100 towards a celebratory party for their club.

Meet our 2020 Recipient

Carol Williams, Peel 4-H Club, Ontario

In her 29-year tenure with 4-H, Carol Williams has organized over 65 clubs for Peel 4-H members, providing opportunities for youth to explore their interests whether related to agriculture, conservation or, most recently during the onset of the COVID pandemic, sewing masks for frontline healthcare workers. Over the years, Carol’s leadership has extended to 4-H governance at both the regional and provincial level. As a result of her tireless efforts, Carol has profoundly enriched the lives of her 4-H youth members.

Read the full award announcement

Carol, nominated by two youth from her Peel, Ontario 4-H club, will be honoured with the award at the annual 4-H Canada Leadership Awards held virtually on Feb. 22, 2021.

Provincial Volunteer Leader of the Year Award Winners

Dalyse Roberston, Neepawa & Area 4-H Club, Manitoba
Greg Rand, Cornwallis Project 4-H Club, Nova Scotia
Jody Williams, Ellerslie 4-H Club, Prince Edward Island

Supported by

The Co-operators

NVLYA Web Carousel EN


Nominations for the 2021 National Volunteer Leader of the Year Award open in summer 2021. Check back here for more information soon!

Selection Criteria

The selection of the provincial winners and the overall national winner is based on two 4-H member references, club involvement, community involvement, length of involvement, and how much the members have learned and developed as a result of the leader.

Have a question about the National Volunteer Leader of the Year Award? Contact Kelsey Norris, Program Administrator at