What is L.E.A.D.?

L.E.A.D. Leadership Excellence Awards of Distinction – recognize outstanding 4-H’ers who show 4-H values in the way they live their lives. The awards honour youth who have become exceptional leaders through their 4-H experience, and who share the best of themselves with their community. Four L.E.A.D. recipients are selected each year, one for each of 4-H Canada’s leadership development pillars.

Each L.E.A.D. recipient receives:

  • A $20,000 scholarship for higher education ($5,000 annually for up to four years).
  • Ongoing mentorship from an expert in their field of study.
  • The opportunity to be a 4-H L.E.A.D. spokesperson.

Interested In Applying?

Read the L.E.A.D. Guidelines.

Applications are now closed for the 2023 season. Please see the 2023 L.E.A.D. recipients below!

Meet the 2023 L.E.A.D. Recipients

Amy Bishop

Newfoundland and Labrador

Pillar: Environment & Healthy Living

Field of Study: Science

Institution: Memorial University of Newfoundland

4-H Club: Zodiac 4-H Club

Amy Bishop

Andrew Jones


Pillar: Science & Technology

Field of Study: Bachelor of Applied Science in Engineering

Institution: Queen’s University

4-H Club: Elmvale 4-H Club

Andrew Jones

Victoria Pitsiaeli

British Columbia

Pillar: Sustainable Agriculture & Food Security

Field of Study: Sustainable Agriculture and Environment

Institution: University of British Columbia

4-H Club: Golden Ears 4-H Community Club

Victoria Pitsiaeli

Olivia Taylor

Newfoundland and Labrador

Pillar: Community Engagement & Communications

Field of Study: Marketing and Communications

Institution: Memorial University of Newfoundland

4-H Club: 4-H Challenging Pioneers Club

Olivia Taylor

The L.E.A.D. scholarships are made possible thanks to the generous support of CN.


Have a question about 4-H Canada's L.E.A.D. scholarships? 

Related 4-H Sites