National Volunteer Leader of the Year Award

For more than 100 years, 4-H has been an organization driven by the dedication of volunteers who provide opportunities where Canadian youth can develop their leadership skills and grow as responsible, caring and contributing young people.

Caroline Boddy of the Golden Prairie 4-H Club in Alberta was chosen as the 2016 National Volunteer Leader of the Year by a panel of judges, who made their selection from the pool of provincial winners. This award, which recognizes the significant and pivotal role volunteer leaders play in the 4-H program, is driven by nominations from 4-H members who want to share the positive impact their 4-H leaders have had on them and their communities.

The winning leader from every province receives a $100 cash prize and a pizza party for their club. The 2016 National Volunteer Leader of the Year recipient receives a $1,000 cash prize and a trip to the Global 4-H Network Summit

2016 4-H Canada Volunteer Leaders of the Year
National Volunteer Leader of the Year - Caroline Boddy, Golden Prairie 4-H Club (Alberta)
British Columbia – Joy de Vos, Deep Creek Dairy 4-H Club
Saskatchewan – Paul Mitchell, Eagle Hills Multiple 4-H Club
Manitoba – Philip and Leanne Fenez, La Salle 4-H Club
Quebec – Pamela McOuat, Lachute 4-H Club
New Brunswick – Lori Anne Thorne, King’s Country 4-H Beef Club
Nova Scotia – Sharlene Carter-Earle, Double “D” 4-H Club
Newfoundland – Sheila Sullivan, I. Sullivan Memorial 4-H Club 

Selection of the provincial winners and overall National winner are based on three 4-H member references, club involvement, community involvement, length of involvement and how much the members have learned and developed as a result of the leader. 

2017 Nominations
Nominations should be submitted directly to 4-H Canada at Applications open October 2017 and close January 2018. Contact Kelsey Norris, Admissions and Travel Coordinator for more details.