Ottawa, ON, Feb. 5, 2024 – 4-H Canada is proud to announce the recipients of three prestigious national awards - Distinguished Alumni, Honourary Member, and National Volunteer Leader of the Year.

Each year, the 4-H National Awards recognize extraordinary contributions of supporters, volunteers, and alumni who embody the mission of 4-H and make an impact on youth and the communities they serve. Join us in congratulating this year’s recipients. Click on the links below for full information on each recipient.


Distinguished Alumni Award

Jon Montgomery – Calgary, AB

The 4-H Canada Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to honour the outstanding leadership and contributions of 4-H alumni to their communities, country, and the world.

Honourary Member – sponsored by FCC

Kim Beilby – Brandon, MB

Photo Credit: Rob Lovatt - Keywest Photo


4-H Canada recognizes individuals who have rendered outstanding

service to 4-H by naming them as lifetime Honourary Members.

Nominations are submitted by governing members and the

recipients are selected by the board of directors.


Honourary Member – sponsored by FCC

Mary-Ann Carson – Maidstone, SK

National Volunteer Leader of the
Year – sponsored by Co-

Erin Rossmann – Quesnel, BC

Volunteer leaders are truly the lifeblood of the 4-H program. The National Volunteer Leader of the Year Award recognizes volunteer leaders who have had a tremendous impact on 4-H youth through their dedicated support and guidance.

The Volunteer Leader of the Year awards are given to a leader in each province, with one recipient also being selected as the national recipient. The provincial recipients are as follows:

Yvonne Bishop – Zodiac 4-H Club, Newfoundland and Labrador

Mark & Ilze Firminger – Hopewell 4-H Club, Nova Scotia

Tania Bernard – Evangeline 4-H Club, Prince Edward Island

Ashley Storey – Gentle Giants and Friends 4-H Club, New Brunswick

Kayla McCann – Shawville 4-H Club, Quebec

Tanya Boyd – Carp Community 4-H Club, Ontario

Shelley Bjarnarson – Neepawa & Area 4-H Beef Club, Manitoba

Mike Kirzinger – Next Step 4-H Club / Viscount 4-H Beef Club, Saskatchewan

Carole Tkach – Coronation 4-H District, Alberta

Erin Rossmann – Kersley 4-H Club, British Columbia

4-H Canada would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2023 Awards program, including the above sponsors and McDonald’s Canada, nominators, and the review committee. The quality of the nominations speaks to the many individuals making a difference to 4-H youth across the country.

The 2023 4-H Canada National Award recipients will be celebrated during the 2024 Leadership Summit, taking place April 12-14 in Vancouver, BC. The event will also celebrate the 2023 Leadership Excellence Awards of Distinction Scholarship recipients, sponsored by CN. Further details will be communicated as they become available.

For more information on the 4-H Canada National Award program, visit

Photos may be used one time in relation to the above news item. For a high-resolution photo, please e-mail

- 30 -

About 4-H Canada

For 110 years, 4-H Canada has been one of the most respected positive youth development organizations in Canada. 4-H Canada has 17,434 members and nearly 7,000 volunteer leaders participating in more than 45,000 projects. Our goal is to help young Canadians “Learn To Do By Doing” in a safe, inclusive, and fun environment. We believe in nurturing responsible, caring, and contributing youth leaders who are committed to positively impacting their communities across Canada and around the world. To learn more about 4-H Canada, please visit and follow our FacebookTwitter and Instagram pages.

For more information, media may contact:
Jessie Christie
Director of Communications
4-H Canada